Skip to main content


The Ashtanga Primary Series led by Sri K Pattabhi Jois.

This video was created in 1993 by Yoga Works Productions – the students being instructed are:

• Chuck Miller
• Maty Ezraty
• Eddie Stern
• Tim Miller
• Richard Freeman
• Karen Haberman

The Ashtanga Primary Series


The Ashtanga Primary Series begins and ends with traditional mantras which are chanted. The opening mantra is a honouring to Patanjali who wrote the Yoga Sutras. The closing mantra is a dedication to the health and happiness of all sentient beings.

Recordings and Text of Chants

Sun Salutation A & B – common to all series

The sun salutation (Sūrya Namaskāra) forms the foundation of the Ashtanga Primary Series. Here you will establish the calm rhythm of breathing (ujjayi), direction of energy (through the bandhas) and concentration (drishti). The powerful flow of a moving meditation is born.

Fundamental Positions – common to all series

The fundamental positions (asana) tune the physical and energetic body to balance (alignment). These consist of the standing and balancing poses.

Primary Series Poses

The positions of the ashtanga primary series extend the previous practice. Following the fundamental poses we begin to learn how to lengthen the body (especially the spine), lifting up and out of the hips. There is also some emphasis on hip opening.

Throughout these poses we learn how to activate our core strength through jump backs and jump throughs.

Finishing Sequence – common to all series

The finishing sequence guides the practitioner in the Ashtanga Primary Series to an energetic culmination. The breathing (ujjayi) calms down, muscle contractions (bandha) become subtle and concentration (drishti) turns inward.

Find Out More


Timetable & Pricing   About Ashtanga Yoga

Close Menu

03 8838 2586 Address: 1 Ringwood Street Ringwood VIC